New Hampshire paramedics are licensed by the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services. A paramedic must be nationally certified by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians before he or she can be licensed in New Hampshire.
The prospective New Hampshire paramedic will need to complete additional state-specific requirements. The purpose is to ensure that providers are familiar with their scope of practice and with the protocols they will work under.
Paramedic License Requirements
The following is a list of requirements you will need to satisfy prior to becoming a licensed EMT in the State of New Hampshire (N.H.):
- 18 years of age
- Criminal background check, while you may be able to get an EMT license with a felony conviction, a criminal record will limit where you will be able to work
- 1200 hour training
- proof of immunizations (Hepatitis B), and likely submit him or herself to a criminal background and drug screening.
- CPR course certificate
- NREMT certification
- If you’re an international student, a school may ask you to provide more information and/or require you to take the English language test TOEFL
- high school graduate or have a GED.
- Valid drivers license not a requisite for an EMT license but may be required for better job prospects
Find a local approved training facility and register for the 1200 hour EMT Specialist training (also known as EMT-I), but note that many training providers exceed the minimum 120 hours of training. Prior to contacting the training facility you should get proof of immunization and verify with the training facility what other immunizations you will need prior to registering.
It is very important that you only register for an approved training program at a state approved facility. as non-approved courses may not be accepted for an EMT license. For a full list of approved training programs see here: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/EMS_Education_Program_Sponsors_5-1-06_160653_7.pdf
Training programs are usually spread over a 12 to 18 month period and cost usually ranges between $5,000 and $10,000.
A lot of approved training facilities also offer CPR certification courses. It would make sense for an applicant to choose a training facility that does indeed offer both the EMT and CPR training courses. Applicants should also talk to the training provider about the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) psychomotor examination and whether they will be able to provide such a certificate (see next step).
Upon completion you will receive a certificate that is needed for the state EMT license application.
Paramedic license applicants must pass the NREMT exams, which are made up of two parts, a written cognitive exam and a psychomotor exam. For the written exam an applicant will need to register with the NREMT (http://www.nremt.org) and pay the $110 application fee. When the applicant is ready to take the exam they will need to get in touch with Pearson Vue (http://www.vue.com) who provides the computer based testing for the NREMT exam.
- Cognitive Examination
The cognitive exam covers the entire spectrum of EMS care. This includes ventilation, airways, oxygenation, Trauma, Cardiology, Medical and EMS Operation. The maximum amount of time you will be given to pass this portion of the exam is 2 and half hours.
- Psychomotor Examination
The psychomotor examination consists of 12 separate skills laid out in scenario format to approximate the ability of the EMT-P to function in an out-of-hospital setting. The psychomotor exam portion of the paramedic NREMT exam will test your knowledge and competency in each of the following skills: Patient Assessment-Trauma, Cardiac Management Skills, Ventilatory Management, IV and Medication Skills, Pediatric Skills, Oral Station, and Random Basic Skills.
For the psychomotor examination you should check with your Paramedic training provider whether they are able to provide such certification in conjunction with the Paramedic course. Alternatively contact your local EMS Agency for details about test schedules. Note that this exam tests the applicant for 12 separate skills and is likely to incur a fee by the training facility.
Once the applicant has received certification for both exams they will be issued with an NREMT certificate which is valid for 2 years; this certificate is needed for the state EMT license application.
For some tips and recommendations on preparing for these exams take a look at our Preparing For NREMT Exams page.
Criminal Background Check
EMT Applicants must undergo a criminal background check prior to starting the clinical rotation of the EMT training course. The process for the criminal background check can be initiated through the training facility you choose. If you have a criminal record it would probably be best to contact the New Hampshire EMS Agency and discuss the prospects of obtaining a license and subsequent job.
In order to submit an application an applicant must do the following:
- Complete the Michigan EMS Agency’s EMT application form (http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/License_Packet_4-07_197521_7.pdf)
- Include proof of CPR course completion
- Include copy of Paramedic course certificate
- Include photocopy of NREMT registration
- New Hampshire does not charge a fee for provider licenses.
Renewal is dependent on NREMT and completion of state-specific requirements.The Bureau of Emergency Medical Services notes that the amount of continuing education required is under the control of the National Registry.
Knowing all these steps in advance will greatly help in planning your training and ensuring a quick and efficient process as possible.
Paramedic Training Schools
- New England EMS – Manchester, NH
One Elliot Way
Manchester , NH – 03103
- NHTI, Concord’s Community College – Concord, NH
31 College Drive
Concord , NH – 03301
- Do I need EMT experience to apply to a paramedic training program?
No, typically not, although experience is often preferred or encouraged by program directors.
- How long will it take me to become a paramedic?
This is harder to quantify, especially since Nebraska follows a more competency-based curriculum rather than counting or tracking hours. Typically, you can expect to participate in a program anywhere from six months to two years.
- How much will a paramedic training program cost?
The cost of a program ranges from school to school, and certainly state to state. But typically, you can expect to pay anywhere from $1,000 to $10,000 for a paramedic program.
- Where can I find an accredited paramedic training program in New Hampshire?
In general, make sure you visit the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (www.caahep.org) to find an accredited paramedic training program.