Michigan EMT training and licensure is similar to many other states. Candidates must go through a Michigan training program and pass the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technician (NREMT) exams before applying for a Michigan EMT license.
Michigan EMT training teaches candidates how to provide emergency care for the sick and injured who access the Michigan emergency medical system.Along with BLS, a Michigan EMT is trained in poisonings, spinal injuries, pediatrics and behavioral emergencies. There are at least 32 of those hours that must be clinical hours, which include Emergency Department and ambulance rotations.
EMT License Requirements
The following is a list of requirements you will need to satisfy prior to becoming a licensed EMT in the State of Michigan (MI):
- 18 years of age
- Criminal background check, while you may be able to get an EMT license with a felony conviction, a criminal record will limit where you will be able to work
- 120 hour EMT Basic training
- CPR course certificate
- NREMT certification
- High School diploma
- Michigan EMT license applications must be submitted online.
- Some Michigan EMT schools will require students to submit ACT, COMPASS, SAT scores, or complete Accuplacer testing.
- Passing a drug test is a requirement for many Michigan EMT programs. It can be a ten-panel drug screening or another type, depending on the school.
- Michigan EMT students will need to demonstrate full immunity to the MMR, Varicella, and TDPA.
Find a local approved training facility and register for the 120 hour EMT Basic training, but note that many training providers exceed the minimum 120 hours of training. Prior to contacting the training facility you should get proof of immunization and verify with the training facility what other immunizations you will need prior to registering.
It is very important that you only register for an approved training program at a state approved facility. as non-approved courses may not be accepted for an EMT license.
Training programs are usually spread over a 2 to 4 month period and cost usually ranges between $750 and $1,500.
A lot of approved training facilities also offer CPR certification courses. It would make sense for an applicant to choose a training facility that does indeed offer both the EMT and CPR training courses. Applicants should also talk to the training provider about the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) psychomotor examination and whether they will be able to provide such a certificate (see next step).
Upon completion you will receive a certificate that is needed for the state EMT license application.
EMT license applicants must pass the NREMT exams, which are made up of two parts, a written cognitive exam and a psychomotor exam. For the written exam an applicant will need to register with the NREMT (http://www.nremt.org) and pay the $70 application fee. When the applicant is ready to take the exam they will need to get in touch with Pearson Vue (http://www.vue.com) who provides the computer based testing for the NREMT exam.
- Cognitive exam. You will take the National Registry Medical Technician (EMT) cognitive exam on a computer at an authorized testing center. Your exam will consist of between 70 and 120 questions. 10 of those questions will not affect your score. The maximum time to complete the exam is 2 hours.
- Psychomotor exam. The National Registry does not administer the EMT psychomotor exams. All EMT psychomotor exams are administered by either the State EMS Office or at the training institution.
Once the applicant has received certification for both exams they will be issued with an NREMT certificate which is valid for 2 years; this certificate is needed for the state EMT license application.
For some tips and recommendations on preparing for these exams take a look at our Preparing For NREMT Exams page.
Check Criminal Background
EMT Applicants must undergo a criminal background check prior to starting the clinical rotation of the EMT training course. The process for the criminal background check can be initiated through the training facility you choose. If you have a criminal record it would probably be best to contact the New Hampshire EMS Agency and discuss the prospects of obtaining a license and subsequent job.
In order to submit an application an applicant must do the following:
- Complete the Michigan EMS Agency’s EMT application form (http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/License_Packet_4-07_197521_7.pdf)
- Include proof of CPR course completion
- Include copy of EMT course certificate
- Include photocopy of NREMT registration
- Include $40 application fee
Knowing all these steps in advance will greatly help in planning your training and ensuring a quick and efficient process as possible.
License Renewal Process
Michigan only uses the National Registry exams for initial licensure. All Michigan license renewals will need to be done using the state mandated curriculums. Plan ahead and leave time for getting your continuing education units because there are specific topics which must be covered for each type of license.
- Can I become a certified and licensed EMT or AEMT (Specialist) in Michigan if I pass the EMT & Fire Training EMT or AEMT Course?
Yes. The state of Michigan requires an EMT or AEMT trained outside of Michigan, to have National Registry Certification and an Out of State License if you are not trained in the state. Please call for details on how to get an Out of State License after you are NREMT Certified so that you can apply for a license in Michigan.
- Does Michigan require any extra EMT training that EFT does not provide in its course?
- How do I recertify for EMS in the State of Michigan?
Michigan states, “During the three-year period of your licensure, you must either accrue Michigan approved continuing education credits, or complete a Michigan approved refresher course equivalent to your level of licensure in order to qualify for license renewal.
In addition, a copy of your CPR card meeting basic life support standards for a professional provider, as set forth by the American Heart Association and published in “GuidelinesÂ for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care”, is required.Â Effective January 1, 2014, the Department will only recognize the American Heart Association Healthcare Provider or the American Red Cross Professional Rescuer certifications.Â One practical CE credit will be awarded in the Medical Category for proof of either certification.”